Journal Entry#2 May 19, 2016

May 19, 2016

Last night I did something I haven’t done in quite a long time. I rode on the back of a motorcycle. My husband rides and since my back started hurting worse over the last year I haven’t ridden much. I have missed it. The only problem with this, however enjoyable it was at the time, when your pain comes from your lower back…riding on the back of a hardtail Harley is not the best thing to do. I am paying for it today. My back is aching and my thighs are on fire. I have stared at my floor, my mind keeps telling me to do some stretches. I know which ones I should do, but my body just keeps screaming NO and I can’t muster the desire or energy to do them.

I started my day with my morning coffee, I haven’t eaten which is honestly not a smart thing to do. It’s actually more important to eat, especially when trying to reduce your weight. Food is fuel and where at times it’s good to fast especially when trying to break plateaus not eating at all is not a way I suggest in losing weight. In my experience it just sets you up to binge eat and binge eating just leads to anger and guilt. So, always eat…at least something, preferably protein and not sugary.

Today was a day I needed more than an aspirin or ibuprofen or two. It’s days like these where I am tempted to drink just to not have to experience the pain. I haven’t, nor am I going to, but I’m sure there are some of you out there that can relate. One thing I have been doing, which goes against my goals, is smoking more and I realize I am doing it as a distraction.  Recognizing this is my first step, changing it is the next step. So many changes ahead of me but I know if in the end I feel even 50% better, the changes are worth it but the point behind this experience is to seek truth. Will making these changes really eliminate all my pain? Days like today I doubt it but I will keep pushing forward.

Today I am going to add a new category to the blog called “My Progress Log.” The progress log will follow my weight loss, smoking cessation, pain levels, medication reduction, etc. Essentially, it will show you my stats as I go along. I will commit to post weekly, and even throw in pictures as time goes on. Thank you for following. I know I probably wouldn’t get through this without being accountable to you. I am also going to start posting more on the various conditions that have been associated with chronic pain, nutritional facts, product facts, and even videos or articles I think will help people with pain become more active.

The more I research for this blog, the more I understand how all of our systems are interrelated. The human system is fascinating and I can’t wait to share information with you all. I know these journal entries are a little, um, bland to read but I promise they will get better as time goes on. Just remember, I promised to be honest with you always and the journal entries are one way I stay accountable to you.

Leave a Reply

